1. In the blink of an eye

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَنِ الرَّحِيم

“I’m sure she’ll be soo suprised” I mused to myself as I rushed around sorting out last minute prep, we had planned this night in honor of my sister whose nikah was two days away. I’d invited all our cousins plus her close friends. Grabbing my prep list for the hundredth time, I went through it again.

Curlers, check.

Manicure sets, check.

Makeup, check.

Snacks, check.

Brushes, check.

It was going to be a once in a life time experience, so all I had to do was call my dad and she would be here. Dad had been our rescuer. When we had put our idea to him and said that we need to get Aziza out the house for a while, he’d offered to take her out under the pretence of last minute shopping but he was going to take her to my cousin Farah’s house and leave her there to be entertained by Farah.

As we waited for her to arrive I was absolutely sure that everything would go perfect and she would enjoy her last night with her cousins. Ok..Ok.. I know I was accident prone, but this time I was sure nothing could go wrong, I mean it was a harmless sleepover.

Just then the doorbell rang and everybody waited for her in anticipation to come to her room when she finally came the suprise on her face was enough for us, we knew it would be a success.

“So what should we start with?” I asked.” Should we start with makeup, hair styles or snacks. Personally I think we should leave snacks for a midnight feast, all ok with that?”

“Yep, that’s fine lets start with hairstyles because I’m dying to try out the new pearl hairpins,” said Zaynub

So everyone began either curling or straightening their hair, and finally, after manicures and pedicures, we began with our makeovers. We had bought brand new makeup specially for the sleepover so everyone began applying makeup enthusiastically. The fun lasted throughout the night and finally after reading fajr everyone went to sleep tired but happy. Little did we know that it was to be a short lived happiness.

2 thoughts on “1. In the blink of an eye”

Leave a Reply

