1. Typically Teen

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَنِ الرَّحِيم

The first day of school after the holidays is usually the best. It’s awesome to go back after a whole long holiday to see your friends and catch up on what happened, to greet all those familiar faces and get used to the new ones.

Don’t get me wrong though, I’m not one of those who absolutely love school. I guess school in moderation is okay but I hate work. I hate having to do any sort of work. Call me a lazy bugger but I guess it’s what I am.

Almost throughout the entire July holiday this year, I was dreading, absolutely dreading the thought of going back. It was mainly for one reason, the fact that my parents had asked me to start wearing niqaab.

Now, sitting in the car on my way to school, I feel butterflies erupt in my tummy. The thought of having to face the weird stares and questions is nerve wrecking. I take a deep breath as I think about it .

I remembered the day that my parents had said the words, “Saadiqah we would like you to start wearing niqaab!” The words had hit me full force. I had stood stunned for a second and then turned around and walked away.

Before this, I had never really thought about it but after I was told this, the thought of it was always in my mind. I started to wonder what was it that was stopping me. There was no reason for me not to wear it. I decided to start reading up on it. Of course mére wore it but I had always thought she wore it by choice I had not known that covering the face was waajib until I had decided to research it.

I closed my eyes taking a deep breath for courage and then opened the door. I stepped out of the car braced for all the stares, comments and awkwardness but in no way was I ready for what happened next.
2 thoughts on “1. Typically Teen”

Leave a Reply

