2. Forbidden!

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَنِ الرَّحِيم

I glanced around me in wonder. Never in my wildest dreams did I imagine the world out there to be so huge and full of people. Luckily, I’m not a person who gets claustrophobic very easily because there were so many people around me.

We strolled along not by choice but because with the amount of people around us, it was practically impossible to walk any faster. What amused me most at first but soon began to annoy me, was the noise. There were like a thousand people all around me, each person screaming over the other loud enough to be heard a block away despite speaking to someone right next to them.

I stopped in awe as spied something from the corner of my eye. I have never seen it in real life before. It is tree! A big beautiful tree! This is the first time I’m seeing a tree out of a story book. I began dragging my brothers towards it battling against the crowd.

Standing in front of it I was dumbstruck at how big it is. The exultant smile on my face was so wide I’m surprised my face didn’t crack. Sensing this Dihya laughed and said, “Go ahead, I can’t believe you so worked up over a tree. Touch it, it’s not going to bite you.”

‘If this is the size of a tree in this world, what must be the size and splendour of a tree in Jannah?’ I wondered. I took a step forward and gingerly ran my hand across the bark marveling at the rough texture and amazing scent. I carefully broke a few leaves of the tree intending to take them home and show mama.

Image result for quranic ayat tree

I took a step back and glanced around me. Spying a bigger and different kind of tree across the road. I took an excited step towards it when Abbaas suddenly grabbed my arm and pulled me back screaming, “LAYYA! NO!”

I gasped, my heart beating so fast that I feared it would jump out of my chest. A car just zoomed by. I almost got knocked! My first day out of the house and I almost got knocked! I could have gotten hurt! I could have died!

Dihya snapped me out of my panicked thoughts saying, “It’s ok, nothing happened. Just be more careful in future. Follow our lead and don’t attempt doing anything you haven’t done before.”

Abbaas said, “I think that’s enough for today. Lets go home.”

As soon as I entered the house, I threw myself into mummy’s open arms. My heart beat finally began slowing down as I told mummy of todays experience and felt safe and protected in her loving embrace.

Hearing a knock at the door, I went to open it. “Asslaamu Alaikum, gū mā” I greeted my Aunt. China’s one child policy has even deprived me of doting Aunts and Uncles. I only have one Aunt, gū mā (father’s sister) and no uncles. I know, I should be grateful that at least I have an aunt.

Gū mā soon left leaving Laila behind anxious to hear all about my day.

Leave a Reply

