2. Typically Teen

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَنِ الرَّحِيم

I joined the crowd of people walking towards the door of the school. Figuring that it would be better to keep my head down as it would help me avoid the stares, I looked at the series of shoes as they passed me wishing that I had someone with me to see me through and help me.

“What are you thinking Saadiqah,” I reprimanded my self, “Don’t you remember Allah is with you and he is the only one you can turn to for help.” I uttered a silent duaa asking Allah to make this easy for me.

I felt a tap on my shoulder and swung around to face a girl of my age, her blonde hair was loose and her face was caked with makeup yet I knew that she had a heart of gold. I faced the girl who had tapped me and to my suprise she flashed me a quick smile,made salaam and introduced herself.

Weird, I thought as I looked at her. She had been in my class for a while and I knew her quite well.She opened her mouth to say something but her voice was drowned out by the sound of a loud male voice saying, “Look at that terrorist!”

I flinched, this was not what I had been expecting. Sure, I had expected stares and comments but definitely not so outright and straight forward like this.

My eyes widened but before I could retort the girl who had introduced herself as Ruqayyah pulled me by the arm and led me to a corner where the rest of her clique was.

They all had been in my class and though I’d never really had close friends, these were the closest to friends I’d ever had.

Most days at break I’d sit alone but on some days when I really needed the company it was to them I’d go, as despite their being fashion freaks they all had definite hearts of gold.

Beneath their caked faces and pretty clothes,they where always welcoming,sweet and ready to allow anyone to join their company.

I remembered once asking them what it was that made them so kind and caring to every stranger their reply had been,”One day you’ll be just a memory, do your best to be a good one.”

I stood before them I realized exactly how far they went to be good and kind. Even though they all weren’t Muslims, they still tried to make me comfortable.

My eyes widened as Ruqqayyah introduced everyone to me, I stared at them trying to figure why she was introducing them to me when I already knew them. They all smiled and greeted me, I smiled back as they finished.

The last girl who was introduced as Hunaydah broke the uncomfortable silence. “And you are….?” she asked.

I suddenly realized that they all didn’t recognize me with my niqaab. I took a deep breath and answered, “It’s me Saadiqah………”
Displaying images (44).jpg
One thought on “2. Typically Teen”

Leave a Reply

