5. In the blink of an eye

To tell the truth, I liked being home alone as I felt it gave me time to think, to think about my actions, to think about my speech, to think about consequenses but most of all I liked being at home to de-stress.

De-stress by baking, de-stress by reading Quraan, de-stress by reading Nafl Salaah and to de-stress by talking to Allah.

Right now I decided to bake something. Going through my recipe file, I finally decided on cheesecake.

Some people just didn’t like baking, but I loved it. In fact I took baking to such a point that if I was stressed about something, I would bake to clear my mind. Many people would laugh at the idea of baking to de-stress but that didn’t stop me.

A little while later after leaving my cheesecake to set, my parents walked in deep in conversation, only stopping to read the dua for entering the house. On seeing me, they immediately stopped talking and changed the subject.

imgres.jpg

Hmmmmm…….. Wierd …. This like never ever happened in our house. Ok….Ok…I was definitly over thinking it. So after greeting my parents I went back to my room and messaged my best friend Kausar.

Me: Assalamu alaykum.

Kausar: Wa alaykumus salaam. Whats up?

Me: Nothing much and you?

Kausar: Nothing just chilling, how’s Aziza?

Me: Same, not much change.

Kausar: Don’t worry, Insha Allah everything will be ok.

Me: I hope so, I realise that she is my bigger sister but I can’t help worrying about her.

Kausar: I understand, but go find yourself something useful to keep you busy so that you can stop worrying.

Me: Ok, will do. Anyway I have to go. Assalamu alaykum.

Kausar: Wa alaykumus salaam.

After speaking to Kausar, I decided to go ask my mother for some advice. Maybe Aziza just needed space to recover on her own and we, were expecting too much from her.

Walking towards the lounge I heard my father say, ” I couldn’t believe it when I was told that it was Basheera……”

Basheera?……..That name does not sound familiar. I stopped to listen even though I knew it was wrong to do so.

” It was all my his fault for listening to her demands in the first place. Now I don’t even get to see my niece, and she doesn’t even know that she has other family.”

My father…Has a brother?…….. Or a sister?………I have another cousin?…….. Is her name Basheera?……..Who does “her” refer to?……..What on earth is going on?

Leave a Reply

