3. Flawless Facade

بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمٰنِ الرَّحِيْمِ

Yeah I know I’m supposed to be studying but just look at this cupboard, it’s such a mess. It needs cleaning. While cleaning and neatening the contents of my cupboard, a sheet of paper caught my eye. What is this, I wondered as I picked it up and began reading :

Country: China
Age: 13 years
Gender: Female
Religion: Muslim
Name: Layya Ma

Last week’s encounter came flooding back. I grabbed a pen and decided to start penning that letter. I was so excited to do this that I don’t know how I forgot about it… Actually I do know. Studying!

Image result for i hate studying quotes

“Dear Layya
Assalaamu Alaykum
My name is Basheera Akoo. I am 18 years old. I am currently in matric. I know I’m supposed to be studying but I’m actually using this as a distraction because I don’t want to study. My brains are fried.
 Can you believe that I’ve actually been oiling my hair recently? I generally hate oily hair but with all the stress of studying my hair has started falling so now I need to use oil if I don’t want to end up bald. I’m consoling myself with the fact that atleast I’ll be getting the reward for following a Sunnah too.
If you are Chinese then why is writing to you being used as an English project? Or are you very fluent in English? Or you aren’t Chinese but only living in China? I’m quite confused, please help me overcome my confusion.
China is a country that has always fascinated me. Please tell me all about your country. Do you like living in China? Is it a country worth nagging my parents to come visit?
Tell me about yourself. What’s your favourite food, your likes and dislikes, your school, your siblings etc. I have two siblings. I have a nine year old sister named Yaseera who is the most annoying thing ever. I think it’s that age. She is so clingy and irritating and nosy. She’s always stealing my stuff too. Her friends are just like her so I don’t think I should have expected any better.
My other sibling is my adorable baby brother. He is 2 years old and such a cute little rascal. He is one person who has me wrapped around their finger. His name is Tufayl  and I think I’ll stop talking about him now because once I start I can’t stop. He’s just too Masha Allah.
I’m so sorry if you were expecting someone your age. There were 30 children in that class and the teacher had 31 pen pals so I asked if I could write to you even though I’m not part of that class. She agreed and so here I am penning this letter.
I hope you are not too disappointed because I am extremely excited. Can you believe I’ve never had a pen pal before? You should be honoured to be the first! Just kidding, I’m honoured to have such an interesting first pen pal. I am so going to brag to everyone about my Chinese pen pal.
Sincerely
Basheera

Image result for sunnah method of oiling the hair

Leave a Reply

