8. Forbidden!

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَنِ الرَّحِيم

Layla had phoned back to say that I’ve never been to her house before so I must come over now and we’ll discuss our plans. I nervously knocked on the door and moments later Layla appeared. She proceeded to give me a tour of her house and finally showed me to the room I really wanted to see.

Ok, I take that back! Why does she have to have a better and bigger room than me also?! Her room is almost double the size of mine! This is not fair! I silently seethed.

I scanned the room in search of Layla and found her opening a cupboard and pulling out that dreaded detective kit. I looked at her in confusion as she handed it over to me and pulled out a second one.

“Why do you have two?”

“That’s yours and this is mine. I could see how much you hated it after that fall so I snitched it. I knew it would come useful one day.” She clipped on her badge and put on her thinking cap. It’s just an ordinary black cap which has ‘my thinking cap’ written on it.

Related image

She dug out a notebook and pen from the kit and flipping open the cover of the book began to write:

Classified case file

Detective Layla and Layya are investigating the case of the mystery of being niqaabi. These awesome detectives will definitely solve the case. The details of the case are listed below.

Case:

The mystery of being niqaabi


Mystery
:

 Are Dihya and Abbaas my (Layla’s)  Mahrams? How?

Detective:

Layla and Layya

Suspects:

Abbaas, Dihya, Mama, Baba, jiùmā (Layya’s Mama), jiùjiu (Layya’s Baba)

Steps to solving this Mystery:

  1. Think of all the possibilities
  2. Question all the suspects
  3. Snoop for evidence

“Anything else?” Layla questioned looking up at me.

“Not that I can think of. Now let’s tackle number one.” I took the pen from Layla and flipping to a new page began writing:

1. Possibilities:

وَقُل لِّلْمُؤْمِنَاتِ يَغْضُضْنَ مِنْ أَبْصَارِهِنَّ وَيَحْفَظْنَ فُرُوجَهُنَّ وَلَا يُبْدِينَ زِينَتَهُنَّ إِلَّا مَا ظَهَرَ مِنْهَا ۖ وَلْيَضْرِبْنَ بِخُمُرِهِنَّ عَلَىٰ جُيُوبِهِنَّ ۖ وَلَا يُبْدِينَ زِينَتَهُنَّ إِلَّا لِبُعُولَتِهِنَّ أَوْ آبَائِهِنَّ أَوْ آبَاءِ بُعُولَتِهِنَّ أَوْ أَبْنَائِهِنَّ أَوْ أَبْنَاءِ بُعُولَتِهِنَّ أَوْ إِخْوَانِهِنَّ أَوْ بَنِي إِخْوَانِهِنَّ أَوْ بَنِي أَخَوَاتِهِنَّ أَوْ نِسَائِهِنَّ أَوْ مَا مَلَكَتْ أَيْمَانُهُنَّ أَوِ التَّابِعِينَ غَيْرِ أُولِي الْإِرْبَةِ مِنَ الرِّجَالِ أَوِ الطِّفْلِ الَّذِينَ لَمْ يَظْهَرُوا عَلَىٰ عَوْرَاتِ النِّسَاءِ ۖ وَلَا يَضْرِبْنَ بِأَرْجُلِهِنَّ لِيُعْلَمَ مَا يُخْفِينَ مِن زِينَتِهِنَّ ۚ وَتُوبُوا إِلَى اللَّهِ جَمِيعًا أَيُّهَ الْمُؤْمِنُونَ لَعَلَّكُمْ تُفْلِحُونَ

This Ayat mentions all those who you don’t need to wear niqab from. Everyone besides these you need to veil yourself from. Do Dihya and Abbaaas fill any of these categories

  1. Husbands : This is quite absurd because obviously you would know if you married
  2. Fathers: This is even more absurd because Abbaas would have only been 8 years when we were born and Dihya even smaller.
  3. Husbands’ fathers: No way! Not even married:
  4. Sons: Nope, not married.
  5. Their husbands’ sons: Not married.
  6. Brothers: Cousins not brother’s
  7. Brothers’ sons: Don’t have brothers
  8. Sisters’ sons: Don’t have sisters
  9. Women: Haha
  10. that which their right hands possess (slaves): This is not even legal or halaal anymore.
  11. Children: I wish!

“Layla, this is going nowhere! Gosh, it is so frustrating! Wait! What if.. foster siblings?!”

I exclaimed not quite liking the sound of it once I had blurted it out.

“Wow! Imagine that! How would we find out though? Not like there’s going to be any hard evidence for this. Time to move on to step two; question the suspects. We need to catch Dihya alone.” Layla clapped her hands in excitement just causing my fears to increase.

My need for answers however was far more over-powering than my fears so I found myself saying, “Come over after school tomorrow. Dihya should be home and Abbaas generally goes over by his friends for about an hour before coming home. We’ll try to catch Duhya then.”

Layla squealed “I can’t wait! This is so exciting! Insha Allah we will get our answers and we will solve this case! We are the most spectacular detectives ever! And I’ll get brothers…?”

Image result for insha allah quotes

2 thoughts on “8. Forbidden!”

Leave a Reply

