10. Forbidden!

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَنِ الرَّحِيم

Sorry, It seems like we all kinda delayed this week.

We silently crept into Dihya’s room, our hearts beating erratically. Layla quickly locked the door behind us slipping the key into her pocket as I pounced on Dihya and began tying him up with a rope.

There’s no way I’m going to use those silly useless handcuffs that Layla wanted me to use, a rope is way better and stronger. Dihya didn’t even resist. He just watched us through it all with raised brows.

“Stop looking at us like that, we are perfectly sane thank you and no we are not possessed by some Jinnaat.  Yeah, we are drama queens who read too many detective novels but who cares. Now stop looking at us like that. We need answers and now. We are not going to let you out of here until we get them. Now tell me, is Layla our foster sibling?” I tightened the final knot on the rope and sat down on the bed waiting for my answer.

Dihya looked completely stunned and bewildered and few seconds later the rumbling of his loud laughter echoed throughout the house.

“Stop laughing at us and answer the question please,” Layla said crossly narrowing her eyes at him.

“No, we are not foster siblings. I won’t spell it out to y’all but I will give y’all a big clue. It was wrong of them to keep y’all in the dark for so long. Y’all deserve to know but don’t be to too mad because remember they did it for reason alright. Just saying, the two of you make terrible detectives by the way.”Dihya barely ducked the pillow that suddenly came flying his way from yours truly of course.

“Fine, fine, I’m sorry.” He sighed and continued, “If y’all think carefully about the details of y’alls birth, y’all will find something doesn’t add up. That is all I’m going to tell y’all. Y’all can figure out the rest yourselves. As I said you two make terrible detectives! Goodbye.” Dihya threw the rope at us and jumped out the window as we were just stunned into silence. Did he just? How? Our minds were having trouble comprehending what had happened.

Did Dihya just jump out of the window? How did he get the rope off without us even realising? Were we really so unobservant? Was my knot too loose? So much for locking the door! Our birth? What on Earth has that got to do with anything? Why can’t the people around me talk sense?

“Now what?” I ground out walking to the door only to find it locked. “Ugh, Just open the door already.”

“We’ll see tomorrow. Look at the time! Mama will be so frantic with worry. I really need to go now but I’ll come over tomorrow. We’ll discuss everything then,” Layla said as I walked her out.

I squinted as watched her walk towards the gate then stop abruptly. She pulled out an envelope from the mailbox and began walking back towards me, a questioning look on her face.

“What’s this? It’s addressed to you from Saadiqah Hussein.”

“Oh, she answered!” I squealed in excitement. It’s my new pen pal. I’ll tell you all about her tomorrow, Insha-Allah. Ask your Mama to let you sleep over here tomorrow and I might even let you read the letter. Assalaamu Alaykum.”

“Wa-Alaykumus Salaam Wa Rahmatullah.”

Image result for greet better salaam

4 thoughts on “10. Forbidden!”

Leave a Reply

