9. Picture Perfect

Tomatoes are red
 Blue cabbage is blue
Pesky housekeepers aren't sweet
And neither is stew.

The cabbage gets wilted
The carrots look dead
The broccoli gets wilted
And I'd rather eat butter and bread

I scowled and slammed the door. To hell with pesky, irritating housekeepers. Why did she have to be so controlling?

Of course, I knew it wasn’t her fault. It was that stupid ‘matrons’, if she could just keep her nose where it belonged, I wouldn’t be having this problem. If she didn’t complain to papa then he wouldn’t have asked Mrs Frere to wait till he came home before knocking off for the day and that I mustn’t be allowed to go anywhere because I was grounded.

Still scowling, I surveyed my surroundings and sighed, I could climb out my window but Mrs Frere was watching the entrance gate like a hawk so I wouldn’t manage to slip out of the yard.

Staying at home was out of the question as well as today was parkers 18th birthday and if I missed that… . Well, no need to bother about what would happen because over my dead body would I miss it.

I racked my brains for a solution once more as I scanned my room once more. I needed something, anything really, that would help me sneak out.

A slow, sneaky smile spread across my face as I spied a hint of black sticking out of my bureau

Ten minutes later found me bounding down the stairs, my blood pumping at just the prospect of going out and having fun. As I reached the bottom I checked myself, forcing my excitement back.

Readopting my sluggish, ‘dragging my legs along’ walk, I stumbled into the kitchen, coming face to face with Mrs Frere. She glanced up with a sigh and suddenly jerked up when she saw the open gate. Yep, she was definitely guarding it like a hawk.

“Haalah! Stop trying your nonsense, it’s not going to work on me.”

Rolling my eyes I snapped, “I’m not trying any nonsense. The gate’s open because I called one of my friends over, she’s in my room. Now if you’ll excuse me, I just came for some snacks.”

Her gaze alternating between the crisp packets in my hands and the open gate, Mrs Frere regarded me with blatant suspicion. “You’re supposed to be grounded young lady, I don’t think you’re allowed to have friends over.”

“She’s already here, I can’t exactly kick her out now.” I stared at her defiantly straight into her eyes. Unbothered she sternly said, “Well you’re going to have to. Your father has given explicit orders that you are grounded and that an eye must be kept on you. Tell her she needs to leave.” Dejectedly, I turned back and it was with hunched shoulders that I walked back up the stairs.

*Farah, this one’s for u. Sorry its late.*

2 thoughts on “9. Picture Perfect”

Leave a Reply

