6. Flawless Facade

بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمٰنِ الرَّحِيْمِ

I was a bit late for school today. No, I didn’t oversleep. No, I wasn’t cramming in last minute studying. No, I didn’t have a transport problem…You really want to know? Fine, I was late on purpose because I was hoping to evade Adilah’s dare because her dares are generally outrageous.

I should have known that there is no way she’ll just leave me. She insisted that the three of us meet after school so that she can give me her dare and that’s how we found ourselves sprawled in Husna’s room sipping steaming hot coffee’s and munching on freshly made popcorn.

It’s just the perfect snack for this gloomy day. For some reason I don’t particularly like gloomy days and this tends to reflect in my mood which also turns gloomy and sleepy. Today however, I was unusually happy and content despite the weather.

Maybe I’m just enjoying my popcorn a little too much. More devine than the taste popcorn is that delicious aroma that surrounded us and that warm feeling that settled after sipping on steaming hot coffee. Ok, maybe I’m happy because I’m eating. On days like these I find it hard to stop myself from over indulging on yummy goodies.

Most of all I think it’s the company, Husna is regaling me with stories about her weekend and meeting up with an old friend after so long. Adilah on the other hand was unusually quite, I glanced at her to find her staring back at me, arms folded, eyebrows raised as if asking, ‘You ready?’

I squeezed my eyes in apprehension at the thought of what Adilah’s dare is going to be, “Fine, Go ahead.” I really hope I’m not going to regret this.

“Give me your phone.” I looked at Adilah startled. “Why?”

“Just give me your phone,” She demanded and I reluctantly handed it over to her wondering why she wanted.

“Why do you have someone named, Mystery Caller?” On seeing the look of confusion on my face, she faced the phone towards me showing she what she was talking about.

I smacked my forehead wondering how I could have forgotten all about it. “I completely forgot about that. I’ll tell y’all but y’all have to promise to help me figure it all out.”

Once both of them had promised, I began narrating to them last week Wednesday’s weird episode, “….The way mummy was behaving was so weird. The question of what had her so freaked out was really bugging me so I checked the call log for the day and this was the only unusual number there so it must be the same lady.

With all this exams stress I completely forgot about it but now I’m more determined than ever to find out what’s going on. Any suggestions? Come on y’all promised to help me out now please do. I mean that whole conversation and mummy’s reaction was so bizarre. I really want to know what’s going on so any ideas how I can find out.”

I watched Adilah stare wide-eyed into space, It’s something she often tends to do when thinking hard. “I got it!” she suddenly screamed startling both Husna and I.

We both tried digging it out of her but she refused to say a word more besides, “One minute, first give me a pen.”

I handed her one and she pulled out a piece of paper from her pocket, unfolded it and began writing something. She refused to let us see what she was writing and we both waited rather impatiently for her to finish and tell us her idea.

Unable to wait any longer we both pounced on her and began tickling her as she protested, “Stop, stop, fine I’m done. I’ll tell you my idea now.”

9 thoughts on “6. Flawless Facade”

Leave a Reply

