11. In the blink of an eye

Hamza’s P.O.V

I sighed as I tried to find myself a comfortable spot on my bed. Every position I turned to had me wincing in pain.

Those idiots had caused me so much of pain and anguish, the only thing keeping me strong was the thought of my fiance.

Mum: “Hamza, are you okay?”

Me: “Jee mum.”

I refused to worry my mother though now I wasn’t so sure if I could keep the truth of what happened to me away from her.

Mum had been questioning me non stop for the past day and though it was getting on my nerves I had no one to blame but myself.

Mum: “Hamza, please just tell me what happened.”

I sighed there was no getting out of it now as she had made herself comfortable in my room. Slowly I began my story.

*Flashback*

That was a long day of work. Locking up my office, I turned to leave when I heard the sound of my phone ringing.

Me: “Assalamu alaykum.”

Mum: “Wa alaykumus salaam. Hamza I need a favour,  please can you stop at the garage on your way home and buy me some milk. ”

Me: “Sure, no problem Assalamu alaykum.”

Mum: “Wa alaykumus salaam.”

Walking towards my car I saw it surrounded by three guys and so I became suspicious. Stopping to pull out my phone I suddenly felt it being pulled away from me. Turning around slowly,  I found myself held at gun point. Putting my hands up I asked.

Me: “What do you want?”

“Aint it obvious? we want you.”

Me: “Why on earth do you want me?”

“Because you have the infomation we need.”

Yes, I was a lawyer and so generally I knew I had to be careful, but never in my entire life had I expected it to come to this.

Me: “Take the car, take the money but please, just leave me alone.” I pleaded with him.

“How is that going to help us? Now get moving.”

I was forced to comply when the others came up behind me and roughly grabbing my arms and tying it up, pushed me towards the car, stopping the car, I was thrown into a dark room and left alone. A while later one of them came back.

“Ready to talk?”

Me: “Talk about what?”

“Just tell us what we want to know.”

Me: “And if I don’t?”

“Then we’ll see what you have to say after your beating.”

Chuckling evily he left the room. What on earth was I to do? I wasn’t left in peace for long. A few minutes after that two of them entered bearing whips. My heart in my throat, I tried to plead with them once again, but to no avail.

*end of flash back*

images (55)-1

Mum: “What happened then?”

Me: “I was beaten up terribly. Taking happiness in my screams they would beat me up even more, yet I would not relent.

This continued for the entire week and still I refused. Eventually they began starving me, in the hope that I would give in.

Until one day they left in a hurry at the sound of police, forgetting to keep me prisoner, taking my chance I limped out and Alhumdulillah somebody saw me in my condition and came to assist me, getting me home.”

Mum: “Why didn’t you just give them the infomation they wanted?”

Me: “Because that information was going to be used to take someones life.”

Coming towards me mum gave me a hug saying “In that case, I’m proud of you son…………”

Leave a Reply

