12. Forbidden!

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَنِ الرَّحِيم

Sorry I’m delayed. Had a bit of writers block you could say. Jazakillah Saadiqah for helping me out.

I unconsciously began biting my lip, pondering over what to do. I finally made up my mind and went in search of Abbaas.

“Fine, I’ll let you read the letter but you have to take me to your university tomorrow,” I said trying my luck.

“Don’t be silly. I’m going to be busy. I won’t have time to babysit you. In fact, I think that’s even against the rules,” I frowned as Abbaas shot my idea down so quickly.

Not one to accept defeat so easily I asked, “Hey, do you know a foreigner by the name of Saadiq Hussein?”

“Yes, I do.” He looked at me rather suspiciously probably wondering how on earth I would know him.

“Does he go to the same university as you? Are y’all friends? Are y’all in the same class?” I rapidly began questioning in excitement.

In typical Abbaas style he answered, “I guess you could say we friends because we not enemies and yes, we are in the same class.

“Do you know which dormitory he’s in?” I asked

“Yes, why?” He asked getting annoyed.

“Please take Layla and I there after you get back from university. Please please please.”

” I’ll think about it,” He finally said after much begging.

Gosh why do they always say that? What’s there to think about any way? Leaving Abbaas to ‘think about it‘ I went to the kitchen. Remembering that Layla was coming for a sleepover, I decided to bake something.

After taking out the chocolate cake from the oven, I went to my room. A little while later, Layla appeared eating a slice of cake. Placing the dome on my table she smiled at me and said, “Figured this was for us, so I brought it anyways.”

Making herself comfortable on my bed she asked, “Did you make any sense of what Dihya said?”

I shook my head, “Nope, my brains are fried thinking of it, so I decided to think of something else for now.” As promised, I tossed her Saadiqah’s letter. She finished reading it and nodded. “I’m with you, but how on earth are you going to know who he is?”

“Abbaas, ” I replied triumphantly. “I was thinking if we think of something to do, then we can persuade him to take us tomorrow.”

“So what are we going to do? “she asked eagerly.

” I don’t know.” I groaned, “I haven’t thought about it yet.”

Layla thought for a while and then groaned also,”Its so horrible, when you want to think of something, then you can’t but when you don’t want to then about a hundred ideas pop up in your mind.”

I nodded while nibbling on a piece of cake,”And sometimes the answer is right under your nose.”

“Under your nose!” she exclaimed.

I moved the slice of cake which I had been just about to bite into and felt under my nose, “Is there something there?” I asked cautiously. Layla fell about laughing.

“No, but I got it!”She exclaimed again, jumping up and digging in my drawer. “Got it!” she said a minute later, holding up something. It’s literally a piece of cake!”

I wrinkled my nose in confusion, ” What are we going to do with that?”

“Wait and see.” she said mysteriously, ” Now, Dihya or Abbaas?”

“But we were supposed to do it on Saadiq.” I protested.

“Yeah, but since we can’t think of anything to do on him, a little extra prank won’t matter, please?” she pleaded.

I sighed and gave in, “Now what?”

Layla laughed gleefully and pulled me off the bed towards the kitchen, taking the cake with us.

Once in the kitchen she melted some chocolate and poured it over the fresh cake so now the cake match that. Next she crumbled a flake and few wafer sticks over all the cake including that piece.

“Now for Dihya,” she said her eyes sparkling with anticipation, “We can use a ‘we are sorry for earlier on’ as an excuse.”

Pausing outside Dihyas room,we put on our best we’re so sorry faces and knocked on the door. Entering his room, we apologized for what we had done to him and put the slice of cake on the saucer, giving it to him as a peace offering.

“Man, your’ll should do this to me more often.” he said with a big smile.

Layla and I both stifled our giggles, struggling to keep our faces straight. Giving him the slice of cake, we both stood close to the door ready to make our getaway.

Layla and I shared a glance and unable to contain it anymore, burst into giggles.

“What?” Dihya asked curiously, cake halfway into his mouth. He stopped and looked cautiously at the cake as if he half expected it to explode in his face.

It only made Layla and I laugh even harder.

“Is this a trick?” he asked, “why are y’all laughing?”

“Because we read that the way to a mans heart is through his stomach.” I  answered through my giggles.

He raised his eyebrows at me and then raised the cake to his mouth. He bit into it and with an exclamation of disgust spat it out. Yeah we gave him soap to eat. It’s amazing how real that soap cake looked. When Layla told me about it I insisted that she buy me one but I had never used it because it just looks to cute to use.

Dihya was fuming and out for murder but by now we were already gone, locked up in my room, eating the remnants of the cake.

Image result for chocolate cake slice flake

2 thoughts on “12. Forbidden!”

Leave a Reply

