8. Flawless Facade

بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمٰنِ الرَّحِيْمِ

Image result for ascending dua

I began sharing what I had discovered with Husna and Adilah, “031 number equals Durban. And she just gave me the address as well as info about herself. She’s getting married soon and her name is Aziza.

She also gave me info about her sister. Her sisters name is Maleeha and she fell down the stairs recently, Alhamdulillah she doesn’t sound too critical. From the way Aziza spoke about her I’m guessing that Maleeha is younger.”

Husna for some reason seemed to be having an internal debate with herself. She seemed as if she was about to say something and then changed her mind.

“Spill!” I demanded.

“This sounds too coincidental. Did she give you a surname?”

“No,” I shook my head questioningly.

“Give me the address again.” She asked as she began messaging someone on her phone.

Adilah and I began fighting over the last few popcorns and Husna’s sudden gasp broke us apart.

“It is her. You know the friend I was talking about, her name is Maleeha and she is the smaller sister of the girl you just spoke to. Aziza, the girl you spoke to is getting married soon and… they gave me a wedding invite for you! Are you sure you don’t know them?”

At my blank expression Adilah said, “You have to go for this wedding then. This way you’ll hopefully find out all the information you need. You’ll find out who they are atleast. How do they know you but you don’t know them though? It just doesn’t make sense. I mean nobody just invites a random person for their wedding, gosh, not even family gets invited sometimes so I just don’t get it!”

“Husna give me her number please,” I asked.

Husna gave me Maleeha’s number and said, “I told her all about us prank calling and tried digging something out of her but she’s just not relenting. You can try but I don’t think you’ll have any success. She said she’ll only tell you in person at the wedding.”

“Nevermind, at least I can tell her what Khawla told me. When ascending, you supposed to read Allahu Akbar, when descending Subhanallah and when you slip Bismillah. If they have stairs in their house then imagine how many times they’ll need to say it. If I tell her about it and she does it then all that reward is mine too without me even doing anything!

If we going to attend this wedding, then we need to go wedding shopping! Don’t look so sad Adilah, we’ll take lots of pictures and tell you about everything afterwards. Husna, any idea if it’s separate because in that case I can buy a dress and if not then I’ll need to buy an Abaya for the wedding?” I asked.

“Sorry, I really don’t know. They like sort of half and half. They have their moments of going one extreme and their moments of going the other extreme. They really nice people though. It doesn’t make sense that the call was from them. Then again, if they inviting you for the wedding there’s really more to this than meets the eye,” Husna said.

I got up and picking up the last popcorn I called out to Adilah “Catch!”

“Score!” I exclaimed as Adilah caught it in her mouth.

“Stop playing with food,” Husna scolded

I teasingly answered, “Sorry mummy. Don’t worry we going to read our duas now, الْحَمْدُ لِلَّهِ الَّذِي أَطْعَمَنَا وَسَقَانَا وَجَعَلَنَا من المسلمين.” And I began running out to dodge those pillows that came flying my way.

 

  • Allahu Akbar when ascending
  • Subhanallah when descending
  • Bismillah when you slip
  • Dua before eating
  • Encouraging someone to do good gains you reward every time they do that act
6 thoughts on “8. Flawless Facade”

Leave a Reply

