9. Flawless Facade

بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمٰنِ الرَّحِيْمِ

After phoning Adilah and telling her to fetch Husna before picking me up, I swiveled around with a blissful smile on my face. Oh yes! I was in my element. It’d been too too long since I’d actually been able to shop for a wedding. I love shopping!

I was so glad to hear that the wedding was going to be separate, well the first half at least. Husna warned me not to get too excited because by the end of the wedding, some men were bound to come in. But that was not going to deter me. I clapped my hands gleefully and giggled! Oh I was going to have fun!

Hearing the hooter sound I raced to the car and jumped in asking, “So where are we going first? The dress I wore for Khalids wedding was from Lunar. I love that shop.”

“Hey, earth to Basheera. You do realise this is Burgville. There is no such shop here. Sorry to burst your bubble but it’s terrible dress shopping here. How could you have lived in Burgville your entire life and be so oblivious to the fact that you can barely find decent clothes, leave alone dresses. Please don’t laugh at me but our best bet is actually…. pep.”

“Too good!!  Hahaha. Omg! You kidding right?!” I asked totally horrified.

“Pep! Nah, there must be somewhere better. Forever new? Zara’s? Kill me, kill me right now! And here I was so excited about going shopping! Now what we going to do?” I sighed as all my excitement dissipated.

Well there’s also Dunns but they never have nice stuff and then there’s Jet and yeah that’s all the options there is to our rather small town. Let’s go buy some ice-cream while we think it over.”


“We searched every shop in this whole town quite literally and not one nice dress!” I complained to Khawla.

“What did you expect?  We do live in a farm after all,” Khawla laughed.

“Khawla, not helping! Now what am I going to wear to the wedding?!!” I exclaimed a little more than irritated.

“Hmm that’s the big question. Who exactly did you say is getting married?” Khawla raised her eyebrows questioningly.

“That’s the problem! I don’t even know myself. I just know that I have to go. Problem is that how do I ask daddy to let me go for a wedding that neither of us know anything about the family or why they invited me. Please help me convince daddy.” I pleaded.

“You crazy! So you saying that your father doesn’t even know about it leave alone given you permission to go and you already went looking for dresses. Dresses that you not going to pay for but your daddy dearest is…not to mention the fact that you still in the middle of exams and your mother’s going to flip when she heard you want to go loafing when you have a paper the day after the wedding.

Who is even going to take you to Durban?! Don’t say Husna because hello it’s more than musafir distance. You need a Mahram. How is this wedding so important when you don’t even know who the bride is?!! You are cuckoos!”

Gosh! Khawla was beginning to get on my nerves. She was always lecturing about this and that. It’s downright annoying. I need her help though so I can’t snap at her the way I’m itching to.

“I’m perfectly sane thank you. And that is exactly why I need your help. I can either go with Husna or you can help me to convince daddy to take me and allow me to attend the wedding. Please help me. If you can convince daddy I’ll come to taleem with you next week.”  I bribed.

Khawla just shook her head and smiled at me, “Ok, crazy child! I’ll see what I can do.

  • It is not permissible to travel more than the musafir distance without a Mahram. School excursions, attending wedding’s, attending mayyit’s etc. are not valid excuses to travel without a Mahram.
4 thoughts on “9. Flawless Facade”

      1. Just cos i aint commenting doesn’t mean i aint reading😉. . As long as u see me liking post, it’s all good. . Dont worry. . The day u see me not liking anything on any blog cos i follow so many then yeah that’s cause for concern. . Lol. .

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

