16. Forbidden!

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَنِ الرَّحِيم

  • This is the dua to be recited (inaudibly) when seeing someone in distress
  • اَ لْحَمْدُ للهِ الَّذِىْ عَافَانِىْ مِمَّاابْتَلاَكَ بِهِ وَفَضَّلَنِىْ عَلىَ كَثِيْرٍ مِّمَّنْ خَلَقَ تَفْضِيْلاً
  • All praise is due to Allaah Who protected me from that with which He tested you and Who definitely favoured me over much of His creation.

Dihya POV

“Psst! Dihya. Tap, Tap. Psst, come on Dihya. Tap, Tap.”

Scanning my surroundings for the source of the noise, I realised it’s coming from outside. Walking over to the window I saw Abbaas, Layya and Layla.

“What’s wrong with y’all?  What y’all calling me for? What’s all the drama about? Are y’all trying to break my window?!”

“Shh! Keep it down,” Layya said putting a finger to her lips.

“We’ll tell you everything later. Now I’m going going to hoist Layya up from here and you catch her and pull her up into your room there. One, two, three!” Abbaas hoisted Layya up and I caught hold of her arms and pulled her unto my room. Layya is like a feather so it hardly needed any effort anyway.

The other two then let themselves in through the front door and made their way up to my room.

“So, what happened?”  I asked quite curious as to what was going on.

They both turned to look at Abbaas urging him to speak. It was hilarious to see Abbaas turning red as he muttered, “Layya forgot her niqaab.”

Abbaas hardly ever did anything that could get him into trouble, it often annoyed me how much he acted like a good little girl obeying everything he was told so obviously I seized this opportunity to torment him, “WHAT, I NEVER EXPECTED THIS FROM YOU! YOU TOOK LAYYA ummmm…hmmmmm..”

“Will you shut up now? I won’t move my hand until you do and if you lie I’ll shove my lovely sock perfumed with stinky toes and athletes feet in your mouth!” Abbaas threatened only removing his hand from across my mouth once I had nodded in agreement.

Still unable to resist I began reciting aloud,  اَ لْحَمْدُ للهِ الَّذِىْ عَافَانِىْ مِمَّاابْتَلاَكَ بِهِ وَفَضَّلَنِىْ عَلىَ كَثِيْرٍ مِّمَّنْ خَلَقَ تَفْضِيْلاً

Layla began laughing but Layya got angry. “Don’t be an idiot! And stop making a mockery of the dua!”

Abbaas shot me a smug look before turning to the girls and questioning, “Ya’ll’s turn now. What was so important that you threw a tantrum and insisted I take you there, not to mention you forgot your niqaab too. How do you know Saadiq? What did you want to do with him? I think I deserve to know, especially knowing the amount of shit I’d get into if Mama and Baba find out.”

I listened in amusement as they related to us their epic prank. “Woah, Ya’ll are evil!” I exclaimed holding my hand up for a high five. “Please tell me ya’ll recorded it.”

“Of course we did! Layya needs to send it to Saadiq’s sister to show her what awesome twins we are.”

I was stunned into silence for a few moments and so was Abbaas. Eventually I found myself blurting out, “So ya’ll do know that ya’ll twins! Why run circles around us acting like ya’ll know nothing.”

It was only then that I realised that they were just kidding around and didn’t actually mean it. Everyone was stunned to silence as the meaning of my words registered on their faces. The hooting of  gūmā’s car shattered the silence and then all hell broke loose.

  • Dua when seeing someone in distress
  • Don’t make a mockery of anything to do with Islam, be it a dua, a belief, an ibadah etc. It could lead to you losing your Imaan!
  • Think before you speak. Be very careful to never blurt out statements you will later regret.
2 thoughts on “16. Forbidden!”

Leave a Reply

