13. Flawless Facade

بِسْمِ اللهِ الرَّحْمٰنِ الرَّحِيْمِ

Bintimahmood, this ones for you. Jazakillah for always being so supportive.

Not sure when the next post is going to be as everyone is very busy at the moment with Ramadhaan and exams coming up so enjoy.

  • Recite three times or more: Bismillahir Rahmaanir Raheem

I love, love, love mhendi so being given the opportunity to have a professional put for me with all costs paid, there was no way I was going to let it go.

When one of the ladies putting mhendi asked, “Who’s next?”

I promptly rolled up my sleeves and sat down saying, “Me!” It was just the three of us left anyway so I didn’t feel the need to be particularly polite.

“Bismillahir Rahmaanir Raheem,” The lady read before starting her design. “So you love mhendi like me?”

“Yes I do and I can see you love orange!” I smiled at her surveying her cute orange punjabi and orange hijab.

Someone laughed and said, “That’s an understatement. Aunty Shenaaz is never seen without orange.”

I turned to see who had spoke and realised it was the bride. I recognised her voice too but just to be sure, I questioned, “Aziza, right?”

“The one and only!” she replied.

“Your mhendhi looks stunning! I love Indian designs too. I find the Arabic one’s too thick and simple. Did Aunty Shenaaz put your’s too?”

When she replied in the affirmative I began gushing, “Aunty Shenaaz I am so coming by you for lessons. No fair there’s no-one who puts such amazing designs in Burgville. Hey, Is that an orange niqaab?! You have to tell me where you get them from. I’ve only ever seen black ones before.”

Aunty Shenaaz laughed. “This old lady here can teach you lot things. Come by me one day, I teach you. I teach you to put mhendhi, I teach you to sew your own niqaabs, I teach you to make samoosa’s, just come by me and so much I’ll teach you.”

“Trust me, no one can keep up with Aunty Shenaaz here. She’s one woman always on the go! Would you believe she just got back from Vietnam last night and here she is today, no jet lag and trust me she looks way younger than her actual age. Don’t ask me her age because nobody knows.”

Aunty Shenaaz just smiled and carried on applying mhendhi.

“Aziza, how does it feel knowing you are going to be married in about…” I looked towards the clock to check the time.

“15 hours, 45 minutes!” Aziza blurted out and then blushed when I laughed and made eyes at her.

Changing the subject Aziza said, “It’s so nice to finally meet you and put a face to you. I really wondered what you’d be like. Whether you’d be shy, or loud, or stuck up or funny or….”

“Okay, okay, I get it, so whats the verdict?”  I cut her off.

” You know what the verdict is…… It’s awesome to have a cousin like you! You’re so much better than I imagined!”

“Wait… So that’s the big mystery?! We are cousins?”

“Yeah, Maleeha was supposed to explain the whole story to you.” Aziza said shooting a questioning look at Maleeha.

“Okay then you tell me, so which uncles,  brother in laws, sisters, mother in laws, grand daughters, Aunty’s, daughters… are we related from?” I questioned as the only reason it would make sense that I don’t remember them is if we very far cousins.

“You really don’t know?! We are first cousins!” Aziza exclaimed.

My phone began ringing, cutting our conversation.

“Assalamualaykum…… Okay, I’m coming.”

“It doesn’t make sense! I really don’t understand what y’all getting at but anyway my father’s waiting for me so I need to go. We’ll continue this conversation tomorrow hopefully. AssalaamuAlaykum.”

  • Applying mhendhi is Sunnah for females so do it with the intention of Sunnah and you will be greatly rewarded.
  • Bismillah should be recited before doing everything.

Image result for virtues of reciting bismillah

6 thoughts on “13. Flawless Facade”

  1. Assalaamu Alaykum….. Jazakillaah so much for the dedication❤❤❤❤……..May Allah Ta’ala make our examinations in this world and the next easy for us……Aameen…..🌼🌼🌸🌸😘😘😘

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

