18. In the blink of an eye.

بِسْمِ اللَّهِ الرَّحْمَنِ الرَّحِيم

Having been ditched by the bride and groom I chided myself for even waiting for Aziza. For some reason I had thought that Aziza would be fine with us joining her, but she didn’t seem to care that this was the last time I would be able to speak to her without being disturbed by others.

I sighed sadly. I should have known Aziza would do something like this. I didn’t mind too much ….okay maybe I did…. but to do it to Basheera was too rude! We’d waited for her and now she orders that we must stay behind!

With a resigned smile, I waited for the food trailer to come and Basheera and I jumped in with the waitresses. I honestly couldn’t say whether I was sad Aziza was no longer going to be living with us or not.

Don’t get me wrong, I love Aziza but… Sometime I wonder if that love is reciprocated even in the least.

The trailer suddenly lurched voilently. I clutched onto the counter infront of me, hanging on for dear life. What on earth! Was the driver drunk?

I turned with much difficulty to face Basheera. “I’m so so sorry about this. I have no idea why Aziza acted so unreasonable. Please forgive us. I can’t believe you are being treated so horribly while you are our guest.”

Having no more words to express my regret, I was silent after that. The terrible lurching stopped and the trailer was finally moving smoothly once more.

As I was about to speak the trailer began lurching once more. Wanting to investigate what was going on, I slowly began making my way to the front and halted in confusion when I heard foreign voices.

Even more determined to know what was going on I continued all the way to the Helm. To my shock, I saw two men wrestling the driver. I screamed loudly as they dropped him and felt my throat go dry as they turned to face me.

As I stood frozen, one of them grabbed a big box from the corner of the boat and passing it to the next boat, both of them jumped in and rowed away.

Moving towards the Helmsman, I knelt down checking his pulse. Seeing that it was normal I stood up and glanced around unsure what to do.

When I noticed someone standing in the corner watching I shouted, “Heyy!! Can you please come here.” As he came closer I asked, “Do you know this man here?”

He looked at the driver on the floor and nodded: “Yep, he happens to be my father.” He drawled in a strong Canadian accent.

“Can you please see to him, I need to find somebody to get us to the ship?” I pleaded, turning back to him.

“Nope, sorry, can’t do that but ……… I can get you to the ship. Oh and don’t worry about him, he’ll be all right once he comes around.” He assured me. ” By the way, my name is Owen and I’m from Canada! Because if you’re wondering if you can go out on a date with me, well, you CAN–UH-DUH!

“Are you sure you not from Istanbul because you sound like a real turkey. You are being paid to get us to the ship on time so get moving!” I scoffed and turned around. “Merde! You just like that little freak Saadiqah. Does it have something to do with y’all’s Indian heritage I wonder?”

I sighed and decided not to waste my breath and just continued making my way back to Basheera only to feel a heavy lurch as the boat began speeding. Grabbing onto the side railing in time, I hoped with all my heart that Owen would never become a boat driver….

*Rasulullah ﷺ said: “A good word is better than silence and silence is better than evil speech.”

7 thoughts on “18. In the blink of an eye.”

      1. Originally it was around 3 post a week, unfortunatly, with ramadhaan everything went haywire….. still trying to get back to routine, but you should get a post withn the week if u r lucky

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

