18. Typically Teen

Sameeha’s pov

(The Past)

“Pinch me, I think I’m dreaming,” I said to Khadeejah as we walked along the shore.
“It is slightly unbelievable,” She admitted, glancing sympathetically at me.
I sighed staring straight ahead, beside me Khadeejah babbled away but I wasn’t really paying attention.

In one fall, my life had been turned upside down. Those people I had been scared of, had actually turned out to be students from the nearby madrasah, dressed in white thobes. I could hit myself at my stupidity, except for the fact that I had a huge bump on my forehead, where I had hit it on something as I fell.

I have no idea what happened after that. All I know is that I woke up at Khadeejah’s and she wouldn’t let me go home, I’m not even sure I want to know.

“Are you fine with that??” Khadeejah was asking.

“What??” I asked.

She sighed as she repeated, “Getting married in Canada, would it be okay?”

I stopped walking all together, staring at her in astonishment. She didn’t seem to notice, walking on towards a familiar spot.

I suddenly realised where we were, and everything made sense.

I recalled freaking out at the sight of the men in white and next thing I knew I went tumbling over a rock and then blacking out
And then coming to with the feel of sometimes lips against mine. Was I hallucinating?

I squeezed my eyes shut trying to remember more, there was something I just couldn’t put my finger on.

“Sammy,” I looked up as Khadeejah beckoned me towards her. But it was only as my eyes met those of a familiar pair of gold ones, did the memories come flooding back.
I realized that someone was saying something to me, but my mind was reliving that moment, it was as if all those people were standing over me again.

I snapped back just in time to hear someone say, “He’s worked hard for it, Sameeha, and wh- what happened,” he hesitated, “it’s gonna ruin his reputation,” he looked pleadingly at me, “could you please consider it?”

I felt as if someone had punched me full in the stomach, blowing the wind out of me, as the truth of the situation hit me.

He was asking me to consider marrying him, and I agreed.
I was a little sceptical, considering that he was more like what my parents wanted me to be than what I was but I comforted my self with the thought that at least my parents would be happy.

But they were far from what I expected them to be.
A day later when Hamid came to speak to my father, he was mercilessly sent away without so much as a tinge of gratitude for ‘seeing’ to me when I fell.

I cried,I begged, I pleaded and when they refused to accept I lost it.

“I don’t care,” I screamed out, “I’m doing it whether y’all like it or not.” My parents shocked faces just made my irritation deepen, “Its not like y’all care, y’all never did!” I exclaimed angrily.

“Sam-…” My father started to say but I cut him off.

“I’m not listening, you can’t live my life for me!” I swung on my heel, opening the front door ready to storm off when my fathers cold voice stopped me in my tracks.

“If you do that, don’t ever return again, I don’t want to be connected to a white!”

I looked scornfully at him, ” So this is what its all about? Colour? Race?!!”I regarded him steely, “My race and colour does not define who I am, my religion does!” With that I stormed out banging the door behind me, I was done with them, forever, and I was never going to regret my decision of leaving them….

It was the biggest understatement, I regretted it terribly, and as much as I tried they wouldn’t go back on their words…..

  • Each and every human on this earth has descended from Adam (عليه السلام) and Hawaa (عليه السلام). Adam (عليه السلام) was very dark in complexion, while Hawaa (عليه السلام) was very fair in complexion, yet it did not matter to them. Sadly, racism and stereotyping has become very common amongst the muslim society. who are we to judge that a certain language, garm or colour has a preference over the other, when we ourselves are descendants of the exact same thing we are stereotyping!
3 thoughts on “18. Typically Teen”

Leave a Reply

