20. In the blink of an eye.

Now the tears couldn’t be held back anymore. Seeing Owen giving me an apologetic look, I gave him a hard slap refusing to listen to his protests and excuses wishing that this nightmarish day would end……

MALEEHA!!  Can you calm down!! What IS the matter with you??

WHAT IS THE MATTER WITH ME??? YOU WANT TO KNOW?? IT WAS ALL YOUR FAULT FOR DRIVING THAT STUPID BOAT LIKE A MANIAC!!! YOUR FAULT THE SALAD WAS SPOILT!!! YOUR FAULT THE CAKE IS GONE!!! AND YOUR FAULT THAT I’M SOAKING WET!!!

Yes I was in a mood!! And who other then unfortunate Owen was at the recieving end of my temper.

“Hmm, I dont see how your sisters cake being stolen is my fault but I can say that you’r shower made you look good. ” He said with a smile.

I gasped,”You said WHAT??

“Uhhh…….You look good?”

Realisation of what Owen had said dawned upon me, my wet dress had now become figure hugging, which meant that he was complimenting my looks!! Astaghfirullah!!

Rushing to a nearby restroom, I stood for a moment to calm myself down, before I began to rub myself vigourously with a towel.

Tears rolled down my cheeks as I realised that I could have been attracting gazes from all directions. My dress which I had been wearing, was completely fitted.

I could be classified amoungst those who commit zinaa!! yes, I myself did not look at the men, I did not think wrong, but…..I walked around in a figure hugging dress causing people to look.

Now only did I realize my mistake….Now only did I see the seriousness of my sin ………Now only did I realize that not only did I disobey Allah, But I had also made a total fool of myself!!

And so I realised that there was only one way out of this……….It was time to better my life and become a true muslimah.

Going back to the hall, I noticed most of the people had already left, the few who remained were surrounded around Aziza.

I stood for a moment unsure of what to do, when I noticed Aziza’s mother-in-law, Aunty Summayyah, coming towards me. Listening to her advice was the best thing I had done at that moment of hesitation.

“Maleeha, don’t worry about what happened earlier, we are all insaan, we all make mistakes. Your sister just wanted everything to be perfect thats why she was so hyped up. Just try to forgive her for her mistake. Yes, I know it’s not easy specially considering what she did to you, but remember, Allah is watching and he loves those who forgive…come now…”

As she ushered me forward, I realized the truthfulness in her words.

Seeing Aziza coming towards me with her hands outstretched for a hug, I knew she had already forgiven me, but I had to stop her.

“Aziza DON’T………….!!!!” but it was too late…..

  • It is of utmost importance that we should withhold our anger. Nabi (صَلَّى اللّٰهُ عَلَيْهِ وَسَلَّم) said something to this effect that “Do not become angry”.
  • Always turn to Allah for forgiveness. no matter what we may have done, Allah Ta’alah is ever ready to forgive. If we take one step towards him he will take ten steps towards us.
5 thoughts on “20. In the blink of an eye.”

Leave a Reply

